Halloween on a Budget

Halloween has always been a time for reinvention and a time for reflection. Over the years, my style has changed, along with how I identify myself. In elementary school I wanted to be the center of attention, so Halloween was my time to shine. Every year I would start planning my costume months in advance, making sure it was perfect. As I’ve grown and become more aware of who I am, Halloween has lost it’s pizzazz. Even though Halloween isn’t as thrilling as it was when I was younger, there is still excitement in the air while planning an outfit.

In college, the biggest dilemma for students is money and finding a believable costume. Last year, to save money, me and my group of friends made simple costumes made from things already in our closet. We got the idea of zombies, so we splurged on an oversized white T-shirt for $5.00! We cut random rips in the T-shirt, making it realistic enough. Next, we splattered red paint on the majority of the white T-shirt, placing red streaks and hand prints all over the shirt, enhancing the scare factor. By adding fishnet stockings underneath adds to the Halloween vibe too!

You can also look in your own closet and dress like your favorite tv character, by matching your color scheme to theirs! Dressing up as Tina from Bob’s Burgers, or other popular animated tv shows have been popping up this season for Halloween and seem to be rising to popularity as we get closer to the spookiest time of the year!

Happy Trick or Treatin’!

XOXO,

Abby

halloweenzombie

Zombie Costumes

One thought on “Halloween on a Budget

  1. Your costumes came out great. I know that as a college student money is tight, and this past halloween coming up with a costume that fit my budget was tough! I think that this was something great to write about!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment